Kiddos Book Reviews by Books and Books

, , Comment closed

 Suggestions for your kids to read this month

 List created by Cristina Russell

 

logobnb
- Vampirina Ballerina 
by Anne Marie Pace, LeUyen Pham (PB)
vampirina
Oh, to be a ballerina! It’s a challenge for any little girl, but even more so if you happen to be a vampire like Vampirina. First of all, you have to find a class that meets at night. Then you have to figure out how to perfect your form when you can’t see yourself in the mirror? And worse of all… STAGE FRIGHT! This one is best enjoyed as a read aloud!
 
 
- Wee Sister Strange
by Holly Grant (PB)
wee
This lovely new book is a whimsical, cute bedtime story sure to entrance young listeners. Each evening, as the shadows grow long, Wee Sister Strange climbs from her window and runs into the woods. She talks to the owls and rides on a bear. She clambers up trees and dives into the bog. She is searching for something. She looks far and wide, over forest and marsh. What is it she seeks? Why, it’s a wee bedtime story to help her fall asleep!
 
 
- Creepy Pair of Underwear
by Aaron Reynolds & Peter Brown (PB)
creepy
From the celebrated team behind Creepy Carrots!, Aaron Reynolds and Caldecott Honor winner Peter Brown, comes a hilarious (and just a little creepy) story of a brave rabbit and some weird underwear. This is not a sequel; it totally stands on its own. Fear of the dark is very common among young kids, and this tackles that topic in an unexpectedly humorous, relatable, and non-didactic way. Jasper’s assurances that he’s a big rabbit, coupled with his growing paranoia, will ring true for parents and kids alike.
 
 
- The Haunted Library: The Underground Ghosts
by Dori Hillestad Butler (CB)
hauntedlibrary
Edgar Award Winner Dori Hillestad Butler gives us the tenth—and final!—title in her not-too-scary chapter book mystery series, The Haunted Library, in the form of a super special! It’s almost Halloween, and Kaz and Claire are off to Seattle to visit Claire’s cousins. They take part in Halloween festivities at the local library and find a ghost living there! The ghost’s family has been missing, so Kaz and Claire decide to investigate. When they discover ghostly activity in the city’s subterranean passages, they put their detective skills to work. Kaz and Claire are on the case!
 
 
- Isadora Moon Goes to School
by Harriet Muncaster (CB)
isa
Meet Isadora Moon! She’s half-fairy, half-vampire and totally unique! Isadora Moon loves sunshine — and nighttime. She loves her magic wand — and her black tutu. She loves spooky bats — and Pink Rabbit. Isadora is half-fairy, half-vampire, and she’s special because she is different! Now Isadora’s parents want her to start school, but she’s not sure where she belongs — fairy school or vampire school?
 
 
- Runny Babbit
by Shel Silverstein (MG)
 
runnybabbit
The star of Shel Silverstein’s hugely bestselling poetry collection is back in Runny Babbit Returns! This collection of forty-one never-before-published poems and drawings features the playful Runny Babbit and many other favorite characters who speak a topsy-turvy language all their own. Compiled from extensive archives, the antics of Runny and his woodland friends embody the beloved Shel Silverstein’s singular style, one we all know and love. New and old readers alike won’t want to miss their chance to follow their favorite Runny in this book of laugh-out-loud funny adventures.
 
 
- Wonder Woman: Warbinger (YA)
www
Don’t let your wonder woman fans miss this highly anticipated, entirely new coming-of-age story for the world’s greatest superhero by the # 1 New York Times bestselling author of the Six of Crows duology, Leigh Bardugo. Wonder Woman will become one of the world’s greatest heroes! But first, she is Diana, Princess of the Amazons. And her fight is just beginning…
 
 
 
- An Enchantment of Ravens
by Margaret Rogerson (YA)
anenchantment
Perfect for fans of Laini Taylor or Holly Black’s young adult novels, Margaret Rogerson has crafted a lovely new fairytale for the ages. In it, Isobel, a skilled painter and the sole caretaker for her family must stand up to an ancient power of the faerie courts—even as she bonds with a boy who just so happens to be a faerie prince. You’ll find a little bit of suspense and romance, as well as gorgeous descriptions of autumn throughout! Truly a great fall read for teens.
 
 
Bookstores Locations

www.booksandbooks.com